Skip to Content

Brant County is a predominantly rural municipality in Southern Ontario that includes Burford, Paris, Oakland, Onondaga and St. George, with Paris having the largest population. Although the County of Brant surrounds Brantford, it is a fully independent city with its municipal government.

Joseph Brant was the leader of the Mohawk people at the time. It was established in 1850, and Brantford became a city in 1877.